Skip to content

Bob Parker Moment

February 27, 2011
tags: ,

[Bob Parker compared to Giuliani]

If I was Bob Parker I would be protesting this story. Giuliani went on about his supposedly great handling of 9/11 until he used up every last drop of sympathy and respect he gained from his disaster management. Later, it was realized how many failures there were in his leadership, and now he’s nothing but a badly failed presidential candidate (obviously he’ll remain rich and privileged for the rest of his life regardless but whatever). I’d prefer Bob Parker to do a better job than that.

Despite the awfulness of 9/11, New York City was never in danger of becoming a dead city. Last Tuesday’s earthquake means that something like a quarter of Christchurch’s CBD will be leveled. More than 50,000 people’s workplaces will be inaccesible for months, if they are still standing, and thousands of homes are wrecked. We need leadership that can prevent the city from becoming a modern-day dust bowl, and while that’s a project that starts now earthquake recovery will likely be the number one issue for the city for a decade.

So many people have lost family and friends, as well as livelihoods and homes. But there are far more people who are sitting around home right now craving a way to help somehow but finding that there’s not really anything they can do other than a bit of cleaning up. Somehow the mayor needs to harness everyone’s desire to help and create a way for everyone to pitch in to a new city that we can all feel is ours again. As good as the student volunteer army is, it’s a lot simpler to organize sand shoveling than it is to reconstruct a city.

Personally, I’ve been looking for jobs overseas for the last few months, and if I get one I’ll probably leave this town to it’s own fate. But if some opportunity appeared for me to really contribute to the recovery I’d be happy to stay. I’ve never really felt that Christchurch is my beloved home town, but right now is the closest I’ve come to feeling bound to a place. If I was the kind of person with the resources and expertise to start something myself I’d try, but I’m not, and I doubt rebuilding Christchurch will be successful without a good central plan and inspiration.

Due to the oddities of modern politics, we’re relying on a former game show host to repair both the physical structures and the way of life of an entire city. Let’s hope this becomes a Bob Parker moment rather than a Giuliani moment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. McFly permalink
    February 27, 2011 9:19 pm

    If it turns out Bob Parker sucks, you should run for mayor.

  2. Rosa permalink
    February 27, 2011 10:42 pm

    I would quite like that article to be really subtle satire but pretty sure it was just disgusting toadying by someone ignorant of any controversy around Giuliani :-/

    If you run for mayor I’ll expound your “calm presence, clear and compassionate words and deep broadcaster’s voice”.

  3. Ian permalink
    February 28, 2011 10:25 pm

    shutup mcfly

Leave a Reply

